Awards and Prizes

ISHR-ES Travel Awards

This is a call for Travel grant applications to our forthcoming ISHR-ES Meeting in Toulouse, 11-14 June, 2024.

ISHR-ES will award 10 Travel Grants of 500 Euros each to support travel and/or housing of applicants

Eligibility criteria

  • PhD research students only with a submitted abstract
  • active ISHR-ES membership status.

How to apply

The decision on applications will be on April 15th. The winners will be announced during the Meeting and on this website. We look forward to receiving your applications and to welcoming you in Toulouse for an exciting meeting!.

Travel Grant Award Winners 2023

Each receiving €500 to attend the ISHR meeting in Porto.

Name Country
Louk Timmer Netherlands
Eirini Kyriakopoulou Netherlands
Olivia Johnstone UK
Inez Duursma Netherlands
Erda Alizoti Germany
Kirsty Wadmore UK
Joshua Chung Belgium
Ido Weiser-Bitoun Israel
Mohammed Obeidat UK
Katharina Ermer Germany
Anton Xu Germany
Induja Perumal Italy
Giulia Guerra Italy
Sara Delgado Tomás Spain

Joint ISHR-ES National Society Awards

In 2017 the ISHR-ES announced a new Joint ISHR-ES and National Cardiovascular Society Poster Award. Please see Joint Program (pdf) for information.

Please contact ISHR-ES Chair and Secretary if you wish to propose a Joint Poster Award

ISHR-ES Ketty Schwartz Award

The ISHR-ES Ketty Schwartz Award is awarded annually to a European Researcher who has made a significant scientific contribution to cardiovascular research, and have not previously received an ISHR International award.

Year Meeting Award winner
2023 Porto Manuela Zaccolo
2021 Online Ursula Ravens
2018 Amsterdam Denise Hilfiker-Kleiner

ISHR-ES Medal of Merit

The ISHR-ES Medal of Merit is conferred, at the ISHR-ES Annual Meeting, by the Council, on members who have made sustained and outstanding contribution to cardiovascular science.

Year Meeting Medal winner
2023 Porto Renée Ventura-Clapier and Guy Vassort
2021 Online Metin Avkiran and Emilio Hirsch
2018 Amsterdam Sian Harding
2017 Hamburg Jean-Jacques Mercadier and Gerd Heusch
2015 Bordeaux Fabio Di Lisa
2010 Berlin Ursula Ravens
2008 Athens Denis Noble
2007 Bologna Tom Ruigrok
2006 Manchester Edward Carmeliet and Wolfgang Schaper
2005 Tromso Bernard Swynghedauw and Ernesto Carafoli
2004 Dresden Lionel Opie and David Hearse
2003 Strasbourg Jutta Schaper and Ketty Schwartz